Online Business: Renewing My Purpose and Doing the Things I Love

Sandra Dahl
5 min readJun 17, 2024

It seems like yesterday and forever ago that I started my YouTube channel. I’ve been through ups and downs, and tons of changes. I’m learning new things every day — not only about my business, but also about myself. I’m writing today to explain why and how I’m doing what I love most, and why I keep on going every day. I sometimes get lost in the day to day grind (as does everyone), and I need to remind myself of why I started this and why I keep doing it.

I’m not going to go into the history of how I grew my business as much as the changes that have taken place and what I’ve learned along the way. I never thought I would be one of those people that could say I have my own business. Recent conversations with my mother-in-law have proved to me that some people don’t like what I do, or agree that what I have even is a business.

I do know that taking things online over the internet scares some people. Generally, people will avoid anything they decide is new, unpleasant or scary. People tend to discriminate against things they don’t understand.

The most important thing that I’ve come to realize is that I didn’t give up. Doing what I do, specifically, is a lot of work, without much gain at the beginning. Think about it: when you start out, you have no market, and no following. Basically, no one even knows you exist. It can get super discouraging, and sometimes, the only thing that keeps you going is to have a supportive group of people (family, for…

--

--

Sandra Dahl

My name is Sandra, and I started my online presence as a content creator on Youtube. I have two channels now and also a Blog on my website at www.sandradahl.ca.